The Smell of Grubby Kids

I’m a grass is always greener kind of gal.  When I was in the classroom, I was SO ready to retire.  The politics, the behavior issues, the feeling that you were never doing enough was sometimes too much.  After 9 years of it, I was ready for a hiatus.  I’ve been out of the classroom for 2.5 years now, and I’ve started to miss it a bit. I miss interacting with a classroom full of inquisitive minds.  I miss teaching reading and writing and doing read alouds that lead to honest and interesting discussions.  I miss planning lessons and making templates on Word while stealing clip art from the web.

IMG_0014

Why the sudden nostalgia?  Today we were walking past our neighborhood school and I heard all the kids playing and yelling and having fun.  But then I caught a whiff.  If you’re a teacher you know what I’m talking about.  It’s a mixture of laundry detergent, boogers, kid sweat, soap, and innocence.  The sense of smell is one of the senses most powerfully connected to memories.  I was taken back to all the classrooms I’d ever taught in, filled with amazing little children, and I forgot about all the school drama and just missed it.

One thought on “The Smell of Grubby Kids

Leave a Reply

